March 31, 2020

DelDems chairman joins 50 Democratic Party chairs urging protection of U.S. elections

Press Release
Chairman Raser-Schramm

Today, 51 State Democratic Party Chairs from across the United States, the Territories, and Democrats Abroad released a letter urging swift action from federal and state elected officials to protect our voting infrastructure in the midst of the coronavirus outbreak. The full text of the letter and a list of signatories can be found at the following link and in the body of this press release:

“Our Democratic leaders all agree: Delawareans should not have to choose between their health and safety and participating in their democracy,” said Delaware Democratic Party Chairman Erik Raser-Schramm. “From Governor Carney’s swift action to expand absentee balloting in our presidential primary, to the clear-throated advocacy for federal funding to enhance our election infrastructure from Senator Coons and our entire Congressional Delegation, to the commitment of Rep. Brady, Rep. Bentz and other members of the General Assembly to make Vote By Mail a reality for our fall elections, Delawareans should be proud of the progress their leaders are making to preserve our democracy in these unprecedented times.”

The letter from the 51 State Democratic Party Chairs reads as follows: 

We, the undersigned Democratic State Party Chairs, are calling for immediate federal and state action to ensure that every eligible voter has the opportunity to cast their ballot without the risk of contracting or spreading COVID-19.

 The United States of America is simultaneously in the midst of an unprecedented global viral outbreak and an extremely consequential series of elections. The rapid spread of COVID-19 has halted virtually all public gatherings and rendered the act of leaving one’s home for non-essential reasons dangerous. As things stand, both of these acts are necessary for millions of American voters to uphold their Constitutional right to select their representatives. 

Every state is currently unprepared to address the seismic shift in election administration necessary to ensure the 2020 election proceeds during a pandemic and must start implementing these changes by mid-April. The funding is needed right now to protect the 2020 election. 

If left unchanged, our current electoral system poses a severe public health risk that could rapidly accelerate the spread of COVID-19 while disenfranchising countless voters and calling into question the legitimacy of our elections.  Just like our healthcare system and our economy, our elections infrastructure will need a massive infusion of resources to ensure that elections can go on and every voter has access to the ballot during the COVID-19 pandemic.

To remedy this untenable situation, we urge federal lawmakers to immediately appropriate at least $2 billion for state and local elections administrators to implement the following reforms:

  • a universal and easily accessible vote-by-mail system which should include: provisions for free or prepaid postage, allowing ballots postmarked by election day to count, reforming any signature match laws to protect voters, and allowing community organizations to collect and deliver voted, sealed ballots.
  • extended early voting periods to allow for in-person voters to practice social distancing
  • expanded voter registration options, including both online and same-day registration
  • voter outreach and education to raise awareness around these changes
  • prohibition of polling place adjustments that disproportionately affect marginalized communities
  • ensure that the millions of overseas American voters can participate fully in the political process

We recognize that these proposals are not made in a vacuum and that the debate surrounding electoral reform is mired in partisanship. However, we are also heartened to see political leaders setting aside party affiliation and acting in the best interest of our nation. As our government takes action to protect our economy from COVID-19, we cannot and will not allow our democracy to fall by the wayside.

Action to safeguard our electoral system cannot wait. In a matter of weeks, millions of Americans across several states will be asked to vote in municipal and primary elections, and they deserve better than the impossible choice between preserving their well-being and casting their ballots.

Federal, state and local policymakers and election officials need to act right now to protect the health of our families, neighbors and communities and ensure that our core democratic functions including elections can continue to function.

Ken Martin                                                            Raymond Buckley                                  

President, ASDC                                            President Emeritus

Chair, Minnesota DFL Party                         Chair, New Hampshire Democratic Party


Christopher England

Chair, Alabama Democratic Party


Casey Steinau

Chair, Alaska Democratic Party



Aliitama Sotoa 

Chair, Democratic Party of American Samoa


Michael John Gray

Chair, Democratic Party of Arkansas


Rusty Hicks

Chair, California Democratic Party


Morgan Carroll

Chair, Colorado Democratic Party


Nancy Wyman

Chair, Connecticut Democratic Party


Erik Raser-Schramm

Chairman, Delaware Democratic Party


Julia Bryan

Chair, Democrats Abroad


Charles Wilson

Chair, District of Columbia Democratic State Committee


Terrie Rizzo

Chairwoman, Florida Democratic Party



Nikema Williams

Chair, Democratic Party of Georgia


Kate Stanley

Chair, Democratic Party of Hawaii


Evangeline Beechler

Chair, Idaho Democratic Party


John Zody

Chair, Indiana Democratic Party


Mark Smith

Chair, Iowa Democratic Party



Vicki Hiatt

Chair, Kansas Democratic Party


Ben Self

Chair, Kentucky Democratic Party


Kathleen Marra

Chair, Maine Democratic Party


Yvette Lewis

Chair, Maryland Democratic Party


Gus Bickford

Chair, Massachusetts Democratic Party


Lavora Barnes

Chair, Michigan Democratic Party


Bobby Moak

Chairman, Mississippi Democratic Party


Jean Peters Baker

Chair, Missouri Democratic Party


Robyn Driscoll

Chair, Montana Democratic Party


Jane Kleeb

Chair, Nebraska Democratic Party 



William McCurdy II

Chair, Nevada State Democratic Party


Marg Elliston

Chair, Democratic Party of New Mexico


Jay Jacobs

Chair, New York State Democratic Party


Wayne Goodwin

Chairman, North Carolina Democratic Party


Kylie Oversen

Chairwoman, North Dakota Democratic-NPL Party


Nola Hix

Chair, Northern Mariana Islands Democratic Party


David Pepper

Chair, Ohio Democratic Party


Alicia Andrews

Chair, Oklahoma Democratic Party


Carla “KC” Hanson

Chair, Democratic Party of Oregon

Nancy Patton Mills

Chair, Pennsylvania Democratic Party


Charles Rordriguez

Chairman, Puerto Rico Democratic Party


Trav Robertson

Chair, South Carolina Democratic Party


Randy Seiler

Chair, South Dakota Democratic Party



Mary Mancini

Chair, Tennessee Democratic Party


Gilberto Hinojosa

Chair, Texas Democratic Party


Jeff Merchant

Chair, Utah Democratic Party


Terje Anderson

Chair, Vermont Democratic Party


Susan Swecker

Chair, Democratic Party of Virginia


Cecil R. Benjamin

Chairman, Democratic Party of the Virgin Islands


Tina Podlodowski

Chair, Washington State Democratic Party


Belinda Biafore

Chair, West Virginia Democratic Party


Ben Wikler

Chair, Democratic Party of Wisconsin


Joseph M. Barbuto

Chair, Wyoming Democratic Party