2020 Democratic National Convention Delegate Selection


DNC 2020


In 2020 Democrats from across America will formally nominate our candidate for United States President, at the Democratic National Convention. Each U.S. State and Territory will elect a delegation of local Democrats to participate on their behalf. This page is home to information on how to participate in the 2020 National Convention Delegation on Delaware's behalf. 


2020 Delegate Selection Plan

The process for how Delaware will elect it's National Convention Delegates are outlined in the 2020 Delegate Selection Plan. This governing document received final approval from the National Committee in November 2019, after a nearly year-long process of drafting and revision. It has been updated this spring to reflect the realities of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Delaware’s 14 Subdivision Level Delegates

With 96% of eligible state electors voting during the July 9-13 balloting period, Delaware Democrats have elected their 14 Subdivision-level delegates to the Democratic National Convention. These delegates join the First State's 10 automatic Delegates and 2 Party Leader/Elected Official delegates to form the foundation of Delaware's Delegation as we nominate our own Joe Biden for president next month. On Thursday, our delegation will convene for the first time - albeit virtually - and our Subdivision-level will round out our 31-person delegation by choosing 5 At-Large Delegates and 2 At-Large Alternates. The delegation will also confirm Standing Committee members as well as convention pages.

Subdivision-level delegates:
Lorraine Badley (New Castle Co.)
David Baker (Sussex Co.)
Tammy Browning-Smith (New Castle Co.)
Italo Carrieri-Russo (New Castle Co.)
Gary Duren Sr. (Kent Co.)
Rita Hughes (Sussex Co.)
James Hussey (New Castle Co.)
Carmen Jordan-Cox (New Castle Co.)
Helene Keeley (Wilmington)
Gemma Lowery (New Castle Co.)
James Maravelias (New Castle Co.)
Terri McIvor (Kent Co.)
Richard Smith (Wilmington)
Martin Willis (New Castle Co.)

Automatic delegates:
Vice President Joe Biden
U.S. Sen. Tom Carper
U.S. Sen. Chris Coons
Congresswoman Lisa Blunt Rochester
DNC Disability Caucus Chair, Former Congressman Tony Coehlo
DLCC Finance Council Chair, House Majority leader Valerie Longhurst
State Party Chairman Erik Raser-Schramm
State Party Vice Chair Betsy Maron
DNC National Committeeman Sean Finnigan (re-elected to a new 4-year term)
DNC National Committeewoman Kerri Evelyn Harris (re-elected to a new 4-year term)

Party Leader and Elected Official delegates:
Attorney General Kathy Jennings
Speaker of the House Pete Schwartzkopf

Important Dates:

  • July 16: Delaware Democratic Party's Virtual Delegate Selection Convention (At-Large Delegates) and Delegation Meeting
  • August 17-20: Democratic National Convention anchored in Milwaukee, WI

Delegate Selection Resources:

2020 Delaware Delegate Selection Plan_052820.pdf434.25 KB
2020 Affirmative Action Committee.pdf127.71 KB
2020 Delegate Selection Overview (Spanish).pdf3.29 MB
Statewide DDSC Delegate List.pdf55.54 KB
Wilmington DDSC Delegates.pdf34.8 KB
New Castle County DDSC Delegates.pdf45.71 KB
Kent County DDSC Delegates.pdf38.73 KB
Sussex County DDSC Delegates.pdf40.24 KB
DNC Delegate Pledges - Biden.pdf53.21 KB
DNC Delegate Pledges - Sanders.pdf41.44 KB
DNC Delegate Pledges - Warren.pdf35.64 KB